## Falkirk High School LECTERN



An oak lectern was dedicated in the Erskine Church in September 1950 to the memory of the former pupils of Falkirk High School who gave their lives in the Second World War. It is adorned on the front panel by the High School badge set in a recessed pointed arch, and the following words are also engraved below in uppercase lettering:

"IN MEMORY OF THE FORMER PUPILS/ OF FALKIRK HIGH SCHOOL/ WHO DIED FIGHTING FOR THEIR COUNTRY/ IN THE SECOND WORLD WAR 1939-45." This is followed by the words ""NOT FOR GLORY, RICHES OR HONOURS, WE FOUGHT,/ BUT FOR LIBERTY ALONE, WHICH NO GOOD MAN LOSES/ BUT WITH HIS LIFE."/ LETTER OF THE BARONS OF SCOTLAND/ TO POPE JOHN XXII, 1320."

Since 1950 the lectern has been in almost daily use on the stage of the assembly hall of the school.

There are 36 names on either side of the lectern as follows: -

Robert Aitken, William M. Alexander, William Allison, George Anderson, Donald Bell, Ian W Blackadder, Donald D Boomer, Robert Brown, John Buchan, R Murray Burt, James T Carmichael, Archibald C Couser, John M Crawford, Peter Crawford, Alexander M'K Cummings, Neil Davidson, Lewis C Davies, David F Doak, Thomas F Dougall, Andrew Erskine, Robin J Fraser, Stuart Gilchrist, Charles Gillespie, Kenneth George, Robert W L Grassom, Thomas Haig, John N Hamilton, George L Hannah, Andrew C Holburn, Robert C Kay, Robert M M Kelly, Alexander C Lawson, John Liddell, William R Logan, Robert H Mathieson, Roy Mathieson, David Millar, Andrew Milroy, John F McFarlane, James McGeechan, Donald S MacGregor, Sydney W McIntyre, Robert McLean, Donald McLeod, Marian L MacMillan,



Charles MacPherson, Jack Neilson, Andrew Nimmo,



James Phillips, John Rankine, Gordon T Reid, Robert Reid, James W Robb, James M Roberts, Charles P Robertson, Colin Robertson, John A Rose, Maurice Rosenburg, George Sanderson, Hugh Sharpe, James Sim, George Summers, Harry F McP Taylor, James Waddell, Matthew W Walmsley, Robert S Warner, Kenneth O Webster, John West, Graham S Wilson, William B Wilson, James G Wylie, and Thomas F Young.

G.B. Bailey (2023)

Falkirk Local History Society